Our Inheritance

Joshua 18:7, “For the Levites have no portion (inheritance) among you, because the priesthood of the Lord is their inheritance.”
    There is so much teaching today about prosperity.  Is it carried to extreme in some cases?  I’m not here to pass judgment or tell you what is right or wrong.  All I want to do is tell you what the word of God says.  The priests were taken care of.  Every need they had was provided for and they never had any wants.  That is a fact.  They served the Lord and that was their portion.  The Levites were scattered among all the people in order to minister to them.  There were some that are raised up to support the ministry.  There are some that are called to different ministries that need a lot of finances.  I believe that God takes care of each one of us according to the need of our ministry.  One of the giftings of Romans 12 is for givers who would give with liberality.   So, if we’re all priests in the new covenant, what is our inheritance?  I hear people praying for millions of dollars or airplanes, etc.  Is that what God wants for us as priests.  I believe that every Christian will be well taken care of.  I believe every Christian will have enough to bless others and to live with more than enough.  But what is enough?  That’s for you to decide.  As for me, I will concentrate on serving the Lord and fulfilling the ministry He has for me.  After I’ve done that, I’ll just trust Him to take care of me.  Do I want nice things, yes!  But not at the expense of my ministry.  I know one thing for sure.  Whether I’m rich (in this world) or not, my focus will be on Him, not what I can get from Him. Amen!
 

Leave a comment